You are what you eat.  Chances are there’s a medieval French-derived word for the kind of eater you are, too.  Glutton, gourmand, gourmet, epicure, gastronome?  Most of us are familiar with what a glutton is (and I’m sure we’ve all had gluttonous episodes of our own).  But what is the difference between a gourmand and a gourmet?  Epicure—don’t I go to a salon for that?  Gastronome…What?

garfgif36

Well, you can Google the differences, my lovelies, but I’ve saved you the trouble.  Here’s a little discussion I found on merriam-webster.com:

Epicure, gourmet, gourmand, gastronome mean one who takes pleasure in eating and drinking.  Epicure implies fastidiousness and voluptuousness of taste.  Gourmet implies being a connoisseur in food and drink and the discriminating enjoyment of them.  Gourmand implies a hearty appetite for good food and drink, not without discernment, but with less than a gourmet’s.  Gastronome implies that one has studied extensively the history and rituals of haute cuisine.”

 As for “glutton,” the common definition is a person who eats and drinks excessively or voraciously.  Think Garfield the cat.

A new slang term has also emerged for food enthusiasts: foodie.  A foodie is a person with great interest in the preparation and consumption of good food.  A foodie enjoys the details that go into the making of whatever food it is and the proper way to eat it to get the most out of it.

And there you have it.  Of these types, I’d have to say I’m a foodie and probably a foodie-gourmand in a more specific sense.  I love good food, I enjoy each bite, I love knowing the preparation that goes into it and how to eat it, and I love having the best of the best (about which you will hear).  But honestly, sometimes I just want a Baja Steak Chalupa.  Yeah, yeah, you gourmets can send me your hate mail later.  I’ll reply after dinner.

 

References:

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/glutton?s=t

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/epicure

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/foodie?s=t

